General

What is Merlin?

Merlin is a HIPAA-Secure telehealth platform that allows doctors to contact their patients remotely. The app is also a tool for patients to keep track of their health information, like prescriptions, allergies, and pre-existing conditions.

 

How secure is Merlin?

Merlin is HIPAA-compliant. Our databases have been custom built for extreme security. Merlin does not record video meetings or share any in-app information with third parties. Your notes are yours and yours alone.

 

How do I report a problem?

You can contact our team directly at help@hellomerlin.io. We are available during office hours to respond to any issues as quickly as possible. You can also contact your clinic via phone.

  

Patient List

How do I add my patients to Merlin?

In order to call a patient, you need to add them to your Patient List, and the patient needs to download Merlin and set up an account. You can do this by selecting the “+” button at the top of your patient list, inputting their basic contact information, and then selecting the “Send Merlin Invite” button.

 

What information do I need to add a patient to my Patient List?

You need the patient’s first name, last name, phone number, and date of birth. We require this information for security reasons. The patient will verify their date of birth in order to validate their account.

 

What happens if I enter the wrong information when adding a patient?

If you’ve added the patient’s information incorrectly, you can always edit their info by clicking on the patient’s profile and selecting the “edit” button in the top right corner of their profile page. Then, you will need to re-send a Merlin Invite and have the patient restart their app.  

 

How do I know when I can call my patient?

When a patient has successfully set up and validated their account, their profile will become “active” in your Patient List. This is indicated by a green check mark next to their name. A “Call” button will also appear next to their name once a patient is active.

 

What does it mean when the patient is greyed out?

This means your patient has not set up their account yet. They will need to do so in order to receive calls. You can send or re-send a “Merlin Invite” to the patient, which will be delivered as an SMS text message. Keep in mind, if they are not receiving the Merlin Invite messages, there’s a chance their phone number has been entered wrong.

 

How do I view a patient’s profile?

You can view a patient’s profile by clicking on their name or profile photo in your Patient List. Here you can see any health information they have inputted, as well as previous notes you’ve taken in Merlin Appointments.

  

Visits

What happens when I call a patient?

When you select “Call” on a patient’s name, Merlin will open the video visit screen for you, and a call will be pushed to the patient’s phone.

 

What if the patient doesn’t pick up?

After a certain amount of time ringing without answer, the visit will be ended.

 

Why does Merlin ask me to fill out notes before ending a visit?

The SO/AP notes are there to help you. We add a reminder at the end of the call to populate them for your own records. But we understand if you and your clinic have your own note-taking tools, which is why the notes are completely optional. 

 

How do I report an audio/video problem?

You can contact our team directly at help@hellomerlin.io. We are available during office hours to respond to any issues as quickly as possible. You can also contact your clinic via phone.